SBOT Police Officer of the Year Award Finalists Announced!

The Surrey Board of Trade is proud to announce the finalists for the 20th Annual Surrey Police Officer of the Year Awards. Winners in the below eight categories will be announced at the gala event taking place on Thursday, October 6, 2016 at the Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel in Surrey (15269 104 Avenue) from 6:00-9:30pm. Tickets are $90 + tax.

The Surrey RCMP along with Surrey’s Auxiliary officers, civilian employees and volunteers will join members of Surrey’s business community to celebrate those individuals who have been chosen by their peers and the public to receive the Police Officer of the Year Awards. Over 50 nominations were received. The nominees were judged in the areas of: innovation, commitment, contribution and perseverance.

For more information and to purchase tickets, visit or call 604.581.7130. The event continues to support the RCMP Youth Academy.

The finalists are:

Arnold Silzer Community Policing Initiative Award
Constable Julie Bion
Priority Offender Coordinator Unit
Constable Sanj Sidhu & Community Safety Officer Dennis Bell (Think of Me Initiative)

Police Team of the Year Award
Domestic Violence Unit
Surrey Detachment’s Crime Analysis Section
Surrey Youth Unit

Police and Business Partnership Award
City of Surrey Crime Reduction Strategy Team
Sophie’s Place
Stephen Boyd, Surrey Schools

Municipal Employee of the Year Award
Corey Bennett
Lindsay Lenarduzzi
Jody Nelson

Volunteer of the Year Award
Irene Merrells
D’Arcy Nelson
Ann Todd

Auxiliary Constable of the Year Award
Auxiliary Constable Mark Elson
Auxiliary Constable Karen Summers
Auxiliary Constable Doyle Willett

Police Officer of the Year Award – Nominated by Peers
Sergeant Paul Hayes
Staff Sergeant Stephen Blair Hurst
Constable Chris Jones

Police Officer of the Year Awards – Nominated by Community
Sergeant Lyndsay O’Ruaric
Corporal Scotty Schumann
Sergeant Marc Searle

– 30 –

Anita Huberman
CEO, Surrey Board of Trade