Surrey Board of Trade Announces 2016 Surrey Innovation Awards Nominees

Surrey, B.C. – On Thursday, September 29th, the Surrey Board of Trade will present four winners with the Surrey Innovation Awards. The awards are presented to Surrey Board of Trade members or Surrey-based businesses or youth have developed a new or improved technology, service, process or product by using creative methods and innovative thinking that has the potential to transform an industry sector or quality of life.

This year’s nominees are:

Small Business Category
Beta Collective
Empower Operations Corporation
Green Earth Biofuels
Karice Enterprises Ltd.
Micromatter Technologies
Sustainability Television
Van der Zalm & Associates Inc.

Large Business Category
Envision Financial

Young Innovator Category
Elvin Cheung – Beta Collective
Michael Ip and Gursher Sidhu – Switchboard Inc.
Shawn Davis – Compy Inc.
Taylor Byrom – TaylorHart.Designs

Organization Category
Cannatronix Innovations Inc.
Semiahmoo House Society
West Coast Centre for Learning

The four winners will be presented with their awards at a celebratory lunch event, which will include an update by Peter Payne of Surrey’s Innovation Boulevard focusing on Surrey’s health technology industry cluster.

Date: Thursday, September 29, 2016
Location: Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel (15269 104 Avenue, Surrey)
Time: Lunch and Registration 11:30 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.; Program 12:00 – 1:30 p.m.
Admission: $50 + GST each (member) or $65 + GST each (non-member)

Presenting Sponsor: SFU Surrey
Award Sponsors: Century Group, Kwantlen Polytechnic University and the Lark Group

Media representatives are invited as our guests.  Please RSVP to Anita Huberman.

For further information, please contact Anita Huberman, CEO, Surrey Board of Trade, at or at 604.634.0342.