Surrey Board of Trade Applauds BC Government Legislation to Make Daylight Saving Time Permanent

On Thursday, October 31, the BC Government plans to introduce legislation to make Daylight Saving Time (DST) permanent in BC, calling the new time zone Pacific Time.

“Currently, 78% of the world does not change time. In North America, only Saskatchewan, northeast BC, and Arizona do not change times,” said Anita Huberman, CEO of the Surrey Board of Trade.

“In an increasingly digitized economy, it is important that we minimize delays as much as possible and adjusting to outdated time changes is a hinderance that we are glad the BC Government is doing away with. Additionally, Washington and Oregon are in support of permanent DST but they need the support of the U.S. Congress, which is currently tied up with impeachment proceedings and will be entering an election cycle in 2020.”

In September, the Province released results from a public survey that found 93 per cent of British Columbians who participated are in favour of getting rid of seasonal time changes and sticking to DST.


Anita Huberman, 604-634-0342,