Surrey Board of Trade Congratulates Justin Trudeau on Re-Election – Action Needs to be on Fiscal Prudence, Taxation, Economic & Business Growth, & Innovation

Last night on October 21, 2019, Trudeau’s Liberal Party of Canada was elected by Canadians. With a win of 157 seats they were able to form a minority government. The official opposition will be the Conservative Party of Canada.

“The Surrey Board of Trade will remain steadfast and resolute on economic policies that will support and attract business,” said Anita Huberman, CEO of the Surrey Board of Trade.

“Our hope and our continued ask is that all Canadian political parties will put politics aside and focus on economic growth for small, medium and large businesses.”

“We see the storm clouds gathering on the horizon – economists and business investors alike are noting that a global slow-down is occurring, and a potential recession is on the way. It is crucial that this next government practice fiscal discipline and enhance economic conditions of the country we are all so proud to live in. This can be accomplished by working with the private sector, not-for-profits such as chambers of commerce and boards of trade, and other levels of government in a collaborative fashion.”

Here are the riding results for Surrey:

·       South Surrey White Rock – Kerry-Lynne Findlay (Conservative)

·       Cloverdale-Langley City – Tamara Jansen (Conservative)

·       Fleetwood-Port-Kells – Ken Hardie (Liberal Incumbent)

·       Surrey-Newton – Sukh Dhaliwal (Liberal Incumbent)

·       Surrey-Centre – Randeep Sarai (Liberal Incumbent)

“We congratulate all winners in this race and commend those who were not elected this term – running to be a politician is an admirable and arduous endeavour.”

“The Surrey Board of Trade will continue to instigate change through federal government advocacy because Surrey Matters!”


Anita Huberman