On Friday, April 30th, the Surrey Board of Trade hosted the 12th Annual Surrey Women in Business Awards Digital Event. This event recognizes the hard work of Surrey’s businesswomen and their contributions to the community.

Master of Ceremonies Lynda Steele of 980 CKNW led the afternoon’s program and Keynote Speaker Yaël Eisenstat captivated the audience with her journey as a woman in male dominated roles and industries. She shared her advice to her younger self: to allow yourself to be vulnerable, to make it a point to reach out and ask for advice or help, to not confuse toughness with the need to do it all on your own, and to find at least one female mentor. “You don’t have to be one of the boys to lead the boys,” she said.

“The Surrey Board of Trade’s Surrey Women in Business Awards is an ongoing way to celebrate the incredible women who are making Surrey such a dynamic city, and to inspire both men and women through impactful keynote speakers,” said Anita Huberman, CEO, Surrey Board of Trade.

The announcement of the winners in six categories took place. The winners were:

Entrepreneur Category: Sandra Christian, Creative Kids Learning Centers

Professional Category: Dr. Ramen Saggu, Pacific ABA Academy

Not-for-Profit Leader Category: Devinder Chattha, Progressive Intercultural Community Services

Corporate/Leadership Category: Marlyn Graziano, Kwantlen Polytechnic University

Emerging Leader Category: Tara Coleman, Nana’s Kitchen and Hot Sauce Ltd.  

Social Trailblazer: Nerissa Allen, Black Business Association of BC

Award Sponsors:

Business Development Bank of Canada, Fasken, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, Live Well Exercise Clinic, Manning Elliott LLP, and MNP

Community Sponsors:

New York Institute of Technology, Prospera Credit Union, Richards Buell Sutton LLP, Scotiabank and the Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel

Media Sponsors:

CKNW, Global BC and The Surrey-NOW Leader

With additional funding from the Startup Canada International Women’s Month Fund powered by Sovereign Insurance, UPS, Scotiabank, Inniskillin and EDC.

Nominations were submitted in six categories and judged on the nominee’s work in Surrey, proven business acumen, leadership, and community involvement and service.

For further information, please contact Anita Huberman, CEO, Surrey Board of Trade, at or at 604.634.0342.

– 30 –